Posted in feeling inferior, I'm not good enough

How To Ditch For Ever The Ridiculous Idea That You’re Not Good Enough

“Today …

I want you to think about 

All That You Are

instead of all that you’re not.”  

(Quote by melissacatherineharrison.com on Pinterest)

 

Is this you?

Do you tell yourself you’re just not good enough?

Many of us do.

All the time.

And you’re fed up with feeling this way, right?

So … let’s sort this, starting with a couple of lists.

I’d like you to write a list of all the things you’d really love to do but are not doing because you know you’re not good enough.

First of all,  … (yes … I mean this) … write down everything you instinctively know you are good at.

Why not ask some friends to tell you what they know you’re good at?

Take a few minutes think to about the jobs you’ve had, your interests, and what these tell you about what you’re good at.

Like this …

  • I’m good at…
  • I instinctively enjoy doing…
  • I play the guitar.
  • I’m good with old people, children, teenagers.

I hope you have a long list.

Read it through and remind yourself of all your strengths.

And now … be brave … add 3 more …

So you’re not a waste of space! 

I can hear you asking …

‘Whose fault is it that I feel this way?’

The good news is that, like lacking confidence, it’s not your fault. 

There are many factors that have contributed to you feeling negative about yourself.

For example …

  • Perhaps your parents constantly compared you with other children?

Like this …

When you were young …

‘They never speak to their mum like that!’ ‘

They clean their own shoes!’

‘They eat what’s put in front of them!’

And as you got older …

‘They are applying for a top uni!’

‘They got straight ‘A’s!’

‘They don’t smoke!’

  • Perhaps your teachers didn’t help … they could have a lot to answer for … (yes, I was a teacher but I know I never did stuff like this …)

A client told me his story …

“I found life hard at school.

I failed an important exam because an insensitive teacher told me I was rubbish and I believed him.”

(If only those teachers knew the damage they did, sometimes with only a chance remark.)

“Is it any wonder I’ve always wished I’d followed my instinct and applied to uni?

But those negative voices from the past told me different.

They’d told me I wasn’t good enough.

And I believed them.

Result?

I settled for far less than I was capable of achieving.”

So what’s the bottom line?

You have 2 choices.

1. Start believing your instincts, your inner ‘self’,  telling you that you are good enough, and read through the list of everything you’re good at.

And believe it.

Or … if you prefer …

2.  Carry on believing those ghosts from your past who trained you to believe you are not good enough.

And that’s it!

Now it’s your turn…

In the space below, tell us what you’ve done to start believing in yourself,  despite distant voices telling you different.

You can be sure your story will help others who struggle with this.

And if you’re finding my posts helpful/interesting/enlightening/intriguing, do sign up in the box at the top to Follow This Blog and get regular updates.

Thank you.

 

 

Author:

I'm a Confidence Coach, writer and blogger at https://confidencecounts.blog and I will be alongside you as you build your elusive confidence. Couldn't be easier to get started; simply tell me about your confidence problem in the Comments section below a post and I'll be happy to help you find the solution.

2 thoughts on “How To Ditch For Ever The Ridiculous Idea That You’re Not Good Enough

Over to you ...